Madeline Hines, BS

Graduate Research Assistant

Undergraduate Institution:

Missouri University of Science and Technology


Rolla Missouri, USA

How did you hear about our program?

Professor from my undergraduate institution

What attracted you to the University of Iowa and why did you choose to pursue a graduate degree with the Free Radical and Radiation Biology Program?

This is the only Free Radical and Radiation Biology Program in the world.  The program offers interdisciplinary studies.  The interdisciplinary nature of the program allows students work in their areas of interest and take the lead in their research area.  The program has a reputation of supporting their students by helping guide and couching them to success.

What type of research are you performing?

I work in an orthopedic research lab which focuses on mitochondrial dysfunction and oxidative distress in a post traumatic osteoarthritis model.

What is something that surprised you about the University of Iowa or your graduate program?

The University of Iowa is a larger university of then I was accustom to and with the larger size I expected less direct interactions with faculty and staff.  I was surprised to fine the professors, faculty, and staff  take a genuine interest in students.

Where do you see yourself 5 years after graduation?

I am not certain where I will find myself in 5 years, because I am finding out new options and opportunities all the time.  I would be very happy to be a primary investigator, or leading a research and development team in industry.  These career goals could changes as new opportunities present themselves which is the best part of getting a PhD, increased opportunities.

What is your favorite part about being a graduate student?

My favorite part of my being a graduate student is working in the lab.  I am happiest doing beach work and talking about science.  I enjoy discussion with fellow students, faculty, and staff about data and future directions.

What are your favorite hobbies/activities outside of research?

I have a few hobbies I enjoy sewing, knitting, painting, and wine/beer making

Research areas
  • Students